Tel:   712-755-5137
graphic logoCity Of Harlan

a place to call Home

City of Harlan

Board And Commissions Members

Harlan has many opportunities for volunteers to serve on various Boards & Commissions. If you would like to express your interest in serving, please contact City Hall and we will route your interest to the appropriate person(s).

The current Boards & Commissions members are listed in the table below:

Mayor/City Council
Name Term Expires
Mike Kolbe 12/31/25
Jay Christensen 12/31/25
Sharon Kroger 12/31/25
Jeanna Rudolph 12/31/25
Greg Bladt 12/31/25
Troy Schaben 12/31/22
Richard Petersen 12/31/22
Airport Commission - 6 year term
Name Term Expires
Rick Dotzler 04/01/27
Ken Hansen 04/01/22
Scott McLaughlin 04/01/24

Zoning Board of Adjustment - 5 year term

Name Term Expires
Mike Christensen, Chairman 07/01/26
Ruthanne Grimsley 07/01/22
Jennifer Kelly 07/01/23
Al Ickes 07/01/24
Doug Hammer 07/01/25

Planning & Zoning Commission - 4 year term

Name Term Expires
Lori Stitz 07/01/22
Mary Johnson 07/01/22
Russ Blenkinsop 07/01/22
Phil Perkins 07/01/23
Debbie Davis 07/01/23
Brent Scheve 07/01/24
Sheri Tyrrel 07/01/24
EX-OFFICIO-Ken Weber- Liaison - Ordinance Committee Chairperson

Parks & Recreation Board - 4 year term

Name Term Expires
Todd Berndt 07/01/24
Open 07/01/21
Sara Poepsel 07/01/25
Ladonna Havick 07/01/23
Elisha Leinen 07/01/23
HMU Liaison - Jennifer Kelly

Harlan Municipal Utilities Board of Trustees -6 year term

Name Term Expires
Terry Arentsen 11/21/21
Michelle Erickson 11/21/22
David Tyrrel 11/21/23
Nella Seivert 11/21/24
Randell Rees 11/21/25

Tree Advisory/Environmental Commission - 2 to 4 year terms

Name Term Expires
Ron Buck 05/16/22
Chance Goddard 05/16/23
Allison Manz 05/16/24
Jeanna Rudolph Council Liaison
Bev Burmeister Plant Iowa Committee Representative
Hotel/Motel Tax Committee - 1 to 2 year terms
Name Term Expires
Council Rep-Greg Bladt 12/31/23
Business Owner- Chris Polley 12/31/21
Resident-Sharon Lucke, Chair 12/31/21
Board of Sup-Darin Haake 12/31/21
Business Owner-Marlin Smith 12/31/22
Resident-Paulette Madson 12/31/21
Steve Ineson 12/31/21
Gene Gettys Jr, City Administrator
Shelby Co Auditor-Mark Maxwell (FISCAL AGENT)
Exec Dir, Shelby Co Chamber - Todd Valline
Library Board - 4 year term
Name Term Expires
Bill Early 07/01/25
Tanya Bruck 07/01/25
Joann Miller 07/01/22
Susan Finn 07/01/23
Dick Jones 07/01/23
Dan McElwain 07/01/24
Paul Simpson 07/01/24
Hope Chipman 07/01/24
Roy Burkhalter 07/01/2022
Veterans Memorial Auditorium Commission - 3 year term
Name Term Expires
Al Hazelton 04/19/23
Reid Mosher 04/19/24
Charlie Parkhurst 04/19/24
Kay Benson 04/19/22
Doug D-Arcy 04/19/23

Ambulance Commission of Shelby County

Name Term Expires
Gene Gettys Jr, City Administrator N/A
Vacant N/A
Mike Kolbe N/A
Barry A Jacobsen N/A
Dr. Scott Markham, County Coroner N/A

Harlan Historic Preservation Commission
(formerly Upper Story/Facade Grant Committee)

Name Term Expires
Gene Gettys Jr, City Administrator N/A
Sharon Lucke, Business Owner N/A
Roger Bissen, Fire Chief N/A
Jay Christensen, Council Liaison N/A
Jerry Henscheid, Resident N/A

Shelby County Emergency Management Executive Committee

Name Term Expires
Neil Gross (Chair) N/A
Frank L. Clark (Vice Chair) N/A
Charles Parkhurst, Board of Supervisors N/A
Karen Schlueter N/A
Ron Kroll (Shelby) 2022
Tim Plumb (Irwin) 2021
Mike Kolbe (Harlan) 2021
Alexander Londo (EMC) Liaison
Gene Gettys Jr, City Administrator Liaison
Kandi Schlensig, Secretary Liaison

Shelby County Chamber of Commerce & Industry (SCCCI)

Name Representing
Steve Ineson, Vice President 4 Seasons Travel
Gervas Mgonja, Treasurer Town & County Credit Union
Steve Kenkel, Past President Shelby County Board of Supervisors
Marie Bengford H&R Block
Tim Christopherson Monogram Prepared Meats
Jahde Osborn Courtside Marketing
Sheri Tyrrel Molded Products
Todd Valline, Director SCCCI
Gene Gettys Jr, City Administrator City of Harlan Liaison
Ken Weber HMU Liaison

Harlan Housing Committee

Name Term Expires
Gene Gettys Jr, City Administrator City
Mike Kolbe City
Dave Miller Resident
Ken Weber, CEO HMU
Mike Jones HMU
Todd Valline Shelby Co. DevelopSource
Kevin Campbell Shelby County State Bank
Becky Miller Farmers Trust & Savings Bank
Terry Arentson MidStates Bank N.A.
Ron Buck Resident
Bruce Burger Resident

City Officers - 2 year appointment

Name Term Expires
Terri Daringer, Health Officer 12/31/21
Wava Bails, Treasurer 12/31/21
Todd Argotsinger, Attorney 12/31/21
Frank L. Clark, Police Chief 12/31/21

Cemetary Association (Information Purposes Only)

Don Stowe, President President
Eldon Erickson, Secretary Secretary
Mickey Williams, Treasurer Treasurer
Bill Early  
Allen Ickes